11 April 2017 FHSU AAUP Chapter Meeting



McCartney Hall 204 3:30-4:30

MINUTES

- 1. Call to order, Darrell Hamlin
- 2. Approval of minutes, motion by Dave Bovee, second by Janett Naylor-Tincknell
- 3. Treasurer's Report and Membership Update, Charlie Gnizak
 - ➤ Budget Balance, \$27, 415.73
 - > 35 Entrants
 - ➤ 34 Members
 - ➤ 3 Associates
- 4. Negotiations update, Tony Gabel
 - ➤ University has agreed to provide 1st run budget documents, clarifying the responsibilities identified in the MOA, Article XXX: Information to be Provided
 - > PTR—revisions are good; address recent concerns; expect to approve at next negotiations meeting
 - Clarification of Tenure/Promotion process approved by both FHSU AAUP and University negotiating teams
 - > Salary remains a part of the discussion; KS budget still problematic; awaiting news from Topeka
 - NTT—concerns about definition prompted serious discussions because hiring practices and terms of employment in many instances are not consistent with the current MOA; discussions include review of on-campus NTT, VC NTT, and the increasing numbers of 5/5 letters of appointment; met with Interim Provost Jeff Briggs (10 Apr. 2017), and the discussions are continuing with the goal of having specific language for Chapter members to review and approve.
 - ➤ NTT Lecturer and Senior Lecturer; appointments were to be eligible for multi-year appointments, and with the changes in Board of Regents policy, 3-year appointments are possible. Chapter members are encouraged to visit with FHSU AAUP members of the FHSU AAUP Board if questions arise.
- 5. Update from the Nominating Committee, David Bovee, Chair
 - Positions open for elections in May 2017; current candidates announced
 - a. President, successful candidate to serve remaining year of Dr. Hamlin's term; Janett Naylor-Tincknell
 - b. Vice President, 2-year term; Tony Gabel
 - c. Treasurer, 2-year term; Charlie Gnizak
 - d. Collective Bargaining Committee, Open

- ❖ STeM, 2-year term; Jeff Solheim
- ❖ Health & Behavioral Sciences, 2-year term; Whitney Jeter
- ❖ At-Large, 2-year term--Open
- e. Nominating Committee, 2-year term--Open
- f. Executive Committee, 2-year term; Rich Packauskas

6. Faculty Senate news, Janett Naylor-Tincknell

- ➤ Currently working to define which FT Faculty would be eligible to vote for, or serve as, senators, but this issue has gone back to committee; discussed having two separate committees—one for oncampus, one for off-campus faculty—but that was determined as unworkable and led to unease with the language presented.
- ➤ Discussion included observations/opinions that the FHSU-AAUP Unit should not support any decision that "pushes exclusivity"; contingent faculty represent 70% of all faculty nationwide; contingent faculty, even if off-campus, is represented by their department senators, but that representation must be equitable, and respect that teaching models are changing all the time.

7. Debut of FHSU-AAUP Chapter Website, Ron Rohlf and Jason Harper

- > FHSU AAUP website—fully approved as presented; a communications committee can be formed—under review
- > Twitter account—keeping the Twitter feed from National AAUP on the website was approved
- > Facebook account approved

8. Old Business

➤ Fall AAUP Event to be planned; to include national speaker; will be a part of membership-building activities

9. New Business

- ➤ Janett Naylor-Tincknell will attend the AAUP Summer Seminar; will seek scholarship monies for her trip
- We always encourage members to consider these learning opportunities with AAUP
- > Elections are forthcoming in May; MOA ballot will be forthcoming
- Communications Committee, Ron Rohlf, Jason Harper, Darrell Hamlin, and Brooke Mann
- 10. Next meeting: Tuesday, May 09, Location, time, and voting details to be announced.

Meeting ajourned, 4:25 p.m. Motion by Jennifer Sauer; second by Janett Naylor-Tincknell